Country Facts

What is the capital of Ghana ?

The capital of Ghana is Accra, which is also the largest city in the country. Accra is a port city along the Atlantic coast. Established in 1877, Accra was also the capital of the British colony, Gold Coast.

Where is Ghana located ?

Ghana is located in Western Africa along the Gulf of Guinea, only a few degrees above the equator.

Where is the center of the Earth ?

The center of the Earth could be considered to be located at the geographic coordinates 0°, 0°, which is located just off the coast of Ghana’s capital, Accra, making Ghana the country closest to the center of the Earth.

What countries does Ghana border ?

Ghana borders Cote d’Ivoire to the west, Burkina Faso to the north, and Togo to the east.

How big is Ghana ?

Ghana has an area of approximately 238,500 square kilometers (or about 92,100 square miles).

What is the population of Ghana ?

Ghana’s population is approximately 25 million.

What are the administrative divisions of Ghana ?

Ghana has ten administrative regions.

Administrative regions and their capitals :

  • Ashanti – Kumasi
  • Brong-Ahafo – Sunyani
  • Central – Cape Coast
  • Eastern – Koforidua
  • Greater Accra – Accra
  • Northern – Tamale
  • Upper East – Bolgatanga
  • Upper West – Wa
  • Volta – Ho
  • Western – Sekrondi-Takoradi
  • What are the largest cities in Ghana ?Accra
  • Kumasi
  • Tamale
  • Takoradi
  • Tema

What form of currency is used in Ghana ?

Ghana’s currency is called the cedi (GHS). The name “cedi” means Cowry shell, which was once used as currency in the country. The Ghana Cedi has been used since 2007.

What are the main features of Ghana’s economy ?

Ghana is one of the world’s fastest growing economies. The country has many natural resources, and is one of the top gold producing countries in the world. Agriculture is also central to Ghana’s economy, producing cocoa, rice, peanuts, wood, and more. Tourism has been rapidly increasing, and adding to Ghana’s growing economy. Ghana has recently begun produce oil offshore.

What countries colonized Ghana ?

The quest for gold brought European traders beginning in the 15th century. The first European country to form settlements in Ghana was Portugal, followed by the Dutch. In the mid-seventeenth century, Britain, Denmark, and Sweden joined the other European nations in colonizing Ghana. The UK called their portion of Ghana the Gold Coast. After World War II, the people of the Gold Coast formed the United Gold Coast Convention which rioted and fought for independence with the Convention People’s Party. Their leader was Kwame Nkrumah, who later became the president of the newly formed Ghana, which was made from the merging of British colonies the Gold Coast and Togoland. Nkrumah led negotiations with the United Kingdom, eventually declaring Ghana’s independence.

When did Ghana gain independence from Britain ?

Ghana gained independence on March 6, 1957, making it the first sub-Saharan country to become independent.

What is the origin of Ghana’s name ?

The Ghana Empire was a ancient civilization in northwestern Africa that lasted until 1235. The Ghana Empire was located north of what is now Ghana, in Senegal and Mauritania. The British colonies Gold Coast and Togoland adopted the name Ghana, which means Warrior King, when merging their colonies to form a single country.

Who are the political leaders of Ghana ?

President: John Dramani Mahamaand

Vice president: Kwesi Amissah-Arthur.

What languages are spoken in Ghana ?

English is the official language of Ghana, and French is taught in many schools, but there are around 80 regional languages also spoken around the country. Some of the major regional languages spoken are Asante, Ewe, Fante, Boron, and Dagomba.

What religions are practiced in Ghana ?

A majority of Ghana’s population is Christian, especially of Pentecostal denomination, though there is a significant Muslim population. Animism and ancestor-based spirituality is also widely practiced in Ghana.